Advice: completing a 20miler 2 weeks before the marathon

Hello,

I'm a first time marathon runner who was hoping to achieve a sub 4 hour time. Unfortunately I got acute tendonitis on both my achilles 3 weeks ago after I completed the 18miler. I've been resting ever since and was able to complete a short (30min) run pain free yesterday. 

I am now hoping to run the 20miler this weekend before the London marathon on the 24th. I'm really keen to get this distance done before the marathon but I reading a lot of stuff which says that the long runs should be done 3 weeks before. 

Is it ok to do the 20miler 2 weeks before?

Many thanks for any advice!

Hannah 

Comments

• Let me start by saying I am not an expert at all only a first timer like you (check out the VLM first timer thread) but I know that running 18 miles is good enough to complete the marathon. By doing the 20 miler 2 weeks before you run the risk of injuring yourself again and therefore not doing it at all as well as not having a decent taper time.

Now, of course, if you have run loads before, have run in several different ones, then that is different but I would save the 20 miler for the actual race itself and keep getting yourself back to your full fitness.  Wouldn't it be awful if you injured yourself doing the 20 miler and then couldn't do the race?

I'm sure the more experienced may have different advice and good luck whatever you decide. image

• Thanks Blithespirit! image

Any comments from seasoned marathon runners would also be really helpful.

• literatinliteratin ✭✭✭

Given that your longest run so far led to injury, and that it's your first time and it would be the longest distance you've ever run, I would agree with Blithespirit.