Backpack Advice for a hike

Probably not the right section of the forum but for some mad reason I trust Piratical advice. I' have used the serach function but the only relevant posts are sparse and years old.

I'm going to attempt the Welsh 3000 in May and I need a backpack/hydration pack. I'm taking walking poles so something I can attach/store them in is needed and for some mad reason I like the idea of having water bottles on the front straps.

Can anyone recommend something not in the £100 plus bracket or talk me out of my mad hydration ideas and assure me a camel back type product is the way to go?

I've never tried anything like this before but I do take meds that mean I'm more thirsty than the average bear both in frequency and volume. I'm also only 5ft3 if that has any bearing.

Comments

• This one ? http://www.welsh3000s.co.uk/

Jeez......

Water bottles on the front will be easier to refill on the go.

I think you'd need to go into an outdoor shop to try on some rucsacs - what fits me won't fit you and comfort is going to be key on this.

(the website has some sneaky advice about swapping sacks over too- ditching a tent and things and going with a lighter pack for the rest of it - so which sac are you talking about ?

I'm sure you'll be doing plenty of walks to prepare for it -so I'd be checking out the outdoorsy shops as part of the weekend. For your short training walks any pack will do.
  • AliBear30AliBear30 ✭✭✭

That's the beastie Cougie, we have a support car so we're not taking tents, we'll walk up to the top of Snowden in the early morning to start off the fun image So it's just a smaller day pack type that I'm after but water/hydration will be a big one for me and like you say the bottles are easier to refill. We'll have lots of water stocked in the car but I need to carry enough for each stage with me.