First time marathon

Hello, I'm running my first marathon on Sunday and am starting to get a little nervous. I'm not sure if it's just negativity pouring in due to lack of running or eating too much chocolate or just natural nerves but I'm worried that I haven't put enough effort in.

I've been training on and off for about 12 months and have done stacks of 9 milers, loads of 14 milers, 3 x 17 / 18 milers and just 1 x 20 mile.....  Is that enough?  Will the last six miles finish me off?!  

Any words of encouragement /advice / experience will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks
T

Comments

• You'll be fine Tara as long as you've done one 20 miler you've done enough - it's natural to think you've not prepared enough - take the first few miles really steady and don't go too fast - the last 6 just do what you can to get through 

I was due to do my 8th Edinburgh marathon this Sunday but got an injury and I'm gutted - so I'm a bit envious 

If you're doing Edinburgh it's a lovely route and the people are great 

All the best and I'm sure you'll be planning the next one on Monday xx

• Thank you image

So sorry that you can't make it - what a shame!

I'll update on Monday and I'm actually already thinking of my next one...  but this could change by Sunday evening..!

• SHADESSHADES ✭✭✭✭

Tara - your marathon training is done now, and it looks like you have prepared well.

What you need to do now is plan everything for race day, a packing list for your kit and work out exactly what you're going to eat for race day breakfast, any snacks, drinks before during and after the race.   Don't forget a selection of kit for all weathers including sun protection, cream, sunglasses, hat or a visor.  

Up until race day, try and get plenty of sleep and fluids and good healthy food, avoid alcohol.

On race day just don't go off to fast, nice and easy especially for the first half.

Enjoy it and savour the occasion.

• rodeofliprodeoflip ✭✭✭

^^^^ +1 for what Shades said.