unfortunately its over

Having left school where I was as fit as a flea I noticed my fitness dropping when I started playing for Lakenheath FC when I was 17 so I started running. I have always run as an adult. Turning 39 I joined Banbury Harriers. Running became a bit more serious. From about 44 I started doing marathons. I had my right ankle restructured 6 years ago. Managed 11 marathons since and its fine. I had a fall fishing however 4 years ago and tore my left meniscus. I have done a few marathons since but following x rays and a diagnosis of arthritis I have been firmly told to stop altogether or I will need a replacement knee inside 5 years. Cycling and swimming have taken over.

Running is brilliant. Look after yourselves. If you get a nasty injury please consider your long term health and be carefull.

Comments

• did you get a second opinion .. just in case.. image

hope you enjoy the cycling........new challenges await

• RicFRicF ✭✭✭

It isn't running per se which appears to be the problem. It's the indication you associate running with running marathons.

Marathons are extreme. Always were, always will be.

I've given up running on several occasions... until the injury disappeared.

Not running marathons is a good idea.

🙂

• That's fishing for you.

But seriously, as above, if you can rein in your expectations you may be able to carry on running for a while yet.
  • Really sorry to hear that Peter. I understand how you feel. Having said that, thank goodness you can still do cycling. At least you'll still be out there enjoying our wonderful world. All the best.

steve

• ftm42ftm42 ✭✭✭

I feel your pain as I have recently been diagnosed with a meniscus tear and despite physio [for a chronic knee alignment issue that has developed over the last 4 years and I assumed was arthritis] and trying to do exercises as often as possible, I am still in pain.