Starting running at 56 years old...

Firstly Hello from a newbie... A quick bit about me, 56 years old was 15 stone and 5'7" and decided I should do something about it ( was always a lightweight as a youngster, but put weight on over last 15 years or so) and about  5 months ago I decided to go on a diet and start cycling again after a 40 year break and really loved it.

I have been cycling around 110 -140 miles a week for the last 4 months and now weigh in at 11 stone 12 pounds and decided I fancied a go at jogging, ( I have seen people doing a 10K race local to me and kept thinking..if only ) so one day a couple of weeks ago I put my heart strap on ( just to make sure I wasn't overdoing it) put on some trainers and went for a short plod ..walked a bit then jogged a bit and ended up doing 2.3 miles in 25 mins 26 seconds and felt aches and pains that I certainly didn't get with cycling but decided to give it another last week same 2.3 miles in 24.02 and not aching nearly as much so now I have got the bug, another try last Friday this time 3.1 miles at 33.22.. with no ill effects.

http://i418.photobucket.com/albums/pp262/TAZ1001/best%20time_zpsifisfcgz.jpg?1475438441279&1475438445478&1475438447064

The thing is this has got me thinking, perhaps this 10K run that I keep seeing might just be possible, I want to carry on cycling but am thinking maybe three rides a week one being a recovery ride in HR zone 1 and a couple of jogging/running sessions a week ( not worrying about speed but trying to build up the distance) and a couple of days off altogether.

Does this seem like a sensible idea and realistically would I be able to attempt a 10 fun run in a few months time.. Oh and I have been out this weekend to my local running store and have been fitted with some new shoes which have apparently have straightened my footwork out..

Comments

• senidMsenidM ✭✭✭