Low Carb (high fat) Pirates

Comments

• I have no knowledge on the breathing..but impressive info on training and weight loss

8 hour bike without fuelling... makes you think

• seren nos wrote (see)

I have no knowledge on the breathing..but impressive info on training and weight loss

8 hour bike without fuelling... makes you think

Yeah it really is quite amazing.   At low intensity I really do feel as if I could just carry on.   I also find I now lack the energy crash in the latter part of rides I used to have. I was also constantly getting stomach issues on really long rides and it was clearly all linked to my body reacting badly to feeding with carbs and sugar.   I actually feel myself getting stronger in the latter part of rides now but that could all be linked to the obvious benefits of pushing less weight along.

I recently did a very hard 6 hour ride in low temps and pretty much found my limits - I was very close to bonking coming home and took a good 24 hours to feel normal again.   I also have to up my hydration and salt on hard rides or cramp is a factor.

I am very much using the fasted rides for weight loss currently - when I get down to the weight I am aiming for I will cut this side of the diet down.   I am planning on time trialing next year and that will without doubt require some careful carb consumption to give me everything I need.

We have been very strict on the diet so far and added in quite a bit of fasting - this mainly is the result of just not being hungry rather than any real plan.   We really had to think hard about only eating when hungry - I was almost forcing myself to eat at times as I just couldn't believe it wasn't necessary - especially post rides when my historic approach is to consume everything in the house within an hour of my return!

• all an individual learning curve..sounds good