Do I continue to prioritse Front Crawl over Breaststroke

YKWYKW ✭✭✭

Hello Forum,

It's been a while since I posted. To give some background I started learning to swim properly (previously could only 1 length) in June. I have been taking one 1-2-1 lesson and also doing 1 session by myself on most weeks. After 4-5 my breaststroke (which previously I could not do) seemed to come along nicely, it "clicked".

However I have been trying to improve my front crawl which is a mess. So rather than progressing the breaststroke too much I have been trying to improve the front crawl - to the point where I have  missed other sessions (running or cycling) to ensure I get my 2 swim sessions in per week. 20 lessons later I am not much better than I was at lesson 5. I have read countless articles, watched huge amounts of videos on swimming technique and even tried 4-5 different swim teachers. Nothing has helped. My technique is all wrong, it reminds me of when learning to drive and feeling like there isn't enough time to do evyerthing. 

I originally wanted to do a sprint tri (400m swim) in September, that date has come and gone and now I am looking at early next year (pool based tri by the way). I have stopped my lessons for the year (financial reasons) and am now wondering how to proceed.

I do feel that if I had continued with my breaststroke I would be able to do the 400m in 10-12 minutes which I would have taken for the Sprint Tri. But "we are where we are".

Everyone I speak to, seems to say either:

a. breaststroke is fine, but space and kicking other people can be a real issue - you should really learn the front crawl 

b. you should learn front crawl

Do I now:

1. Continue with trying to learn front crawl and possible put the April date in jeapordy

or

2. Accept that my first one(+) tri's will be Breaststroke, accept it and practice more on that.

Comments

• Have you tried another instructor?

• Pool based tris are quite claustrophobic with often 4 people per lane.