Options

Hard Running

Hi all,

My first post. I've been running for just over 3 months now, 2 or 3 times a week, and have reached some very satisfying personal targets. Not huge but ones that felt good.

I don't have anyone to relate my times to and wondered if they were ok.

Best 3k is approx 14:45

Best 4K is approx 19:58

Best 5k is exactly 26:01

And longest run is 7km, which has really mentally and physically tough, and was 39 minutes

I'm 48, about 14st, 5'11"

My question to you more experienced runners out there, is, will it always feel like hard work , and should I be satisfied with what I'm doing?

Every run still feels hard work, but I'm not sure whether that's because I keep pushing all the time or my fitness will take longer than i thought.

Also what's better for fitness, 3 x 4km runs a week, or 2 x 5km?

Thanks in advance Theo.

Comments

• Options

OK, I admit I'm a beginner too, but here's my ha'pence worth in case it helps.

Will it always feel like hard work?  I doubt it Theo.  I started Couch to 5k in January and can now run 10k without feeling tired and I'm 59.  My 5k pb is 27:47 by the way, so yes, you're doing fine.

However it might depend on what you are doing.  If you are always pushing yourself to go faster then yes, it will be tough.  You need to also mix in longer but slower runs (maybe even half your fastest pace), short demanding sprints, a mix of fast and slow intervals and maybe some hill work.  That way you will get your body used to providing you with energy under changing conditions, build up stamina and muscle strength etc.  If you always run as fast as you can you'll just plateau.

Maybe try setting out and just running slowly for an hour.  Don't worry about speed, run by how you feel.  If you start to feel tired, slow down for a bit and speed up a little when you feel up to it.  Just a suggestion.  Good luck and well done on the times!

• Options

Hi Metalhead