First time marathon runner tips

Hi,

I will be running the London Marathon in April this year. It is my first time running in any race and I have one 10k booked in February too. I would say I am of average fitness but I am only starting my actual marathon training today. I am doing this purely to raise money for charity so it is something I would like to do, especially as I have already had some sponsorship come in. I am hoping for a time of around 5-5 1/2 hours, although I would be glad to just finish!

Am I being unrealistic and setting myself up for failure or injury? If not, what are some tips you could give me. I have downloaded a training plan which seems achievable to me but any extra advice (or warnings!!) would be really appreciated!

Comments

• General advice- don't overdo the training in the first 6 weeks, or you'll end up injured. Make sure you get some long runs in, but don't worry if you struggle to do the much- talked about 5x 20 milers- for someone at your intended pace, a long slow run of 20 miles ( which needs to be done SLOWER than race pace, or it will wreck you) will take a number of hours- it is probably better to do the long slow runs by time, rather than length- runs of 3.5 hours or so are probably as long as you should go, or you'll not recover, and will either find it impossible to do any other training, or injure yourself, or be so knackered by the time of the actual event that you can't do yourself justice.

I am a 4- 4.5 hour marathoner, and, having done a dozen or so, I haven't ever done more than 1 or 2 20 milers, I think most plans are written for much faster runners, so perhaps a plan by time, rather than distance, is the thing to look for.

At the sort of paces you are describing. a planned run/ walk approach might work well- look at that as an option too.

• Hi ARF,