London Triathlon - ANY TIPS!

I'll be taking part in the London Triathlon this year and it's my first time doing so! (I'm sure the London Triathlon is a common topic but I just have my own few queries if that's okay!)

I'm a little wary but excited to complete this as I've always wanted to do it, I can't wait! I'm doing the Sprint distance but haven't yet decided on a male only/mixed group. Any suggestions?

One thing I've noticed is how expensive everything is (I'm kind of new to triathlons, I've done a few but am looking for a few, more professional upgrades) but I understand that money buys quality these days - any good sites that sell cheap, good quality tri suits/wetsuits?

Also, this may sound stupid but do you get given your own swimming hats? I see everyone in the same colour so I assume so? 

And one last thing, what happens with timings for the event? When I book my place do I get given a time slot? I'm going on the Saturday but I can't get there if it's too early on (8am-9am) which could be a problem.

Anything else you can advise me with would be really, really appreciated. 

Thank you!

Comments

• To be honest at Sprint Distances I don't think you need to be spending a fortune on a wetsuit. You can pick one up from Wiggle for pretty sensible money, I see quite a few people wearing DHB ones which are their own brand so maybe look at one of those. From one I understand they're pretty buoyant which most new open water swimmers prefer. 

Swim hat will be provided.

Male or mixed, it makes no difference IMHO, fast swimmers are fast regardless of their gender and slow are slow. I'm in the slow category and I doubt it's down to my meat and two veg causing drag, more likely my crap technique and flailing arms are to blame.

Timing wise, I can't say as I've never done this event but in most cases they tell you your wave number and start time in advance. As a triathlete get use to some very early starts, I regularly seem to find myself in a 6am wave.