The Middle Ground

Comments

• Dr.DanDr.Dan ✭✭✭

imageActually, it's carbs that make you feel hungry ... protein and fat are FAR more satiating. I do make sure I replace my carbs with healthy fat, so no major calorie deficit.

DT - good luck! Enjoy the rest ... and don't eat all the pies.image

• MYOXMYOX ✭✭✭

I eat all my carbs in the form of Pringles. As you might be able to tell, I'm no expert on diet.

6 miles for me this morning. 5 easy, 1 in the middle at 6 min/mile pace because I felt like it! Flat miles for once, and a much steadier HR as a result - averaged out at 139bpm. Pace was 7:48 min/mile.

Too many stats. Urgh. 

• RatzerRatzer ✭✭✭

DT, I bet you're looking forward to those cold showers...  Have you heard of a guy called Wim Hof?  Those couple of weeks will be frustrating but pretend you're tapering!

Yes, Dr.D, we have turned so many foodstuffs into calorie-bags over years of genetic manipulation.  Your recommendation is inspiring, though.  I've been planning for too long to throw the carbs out of the pantry.  I'm thinking I can get away with it if I tell the rest of the family that the breakfast cereals and bread are now in a cupboard marked "fuel for gym and races".  [The Pringles are already in a box marked "movie fuel".]

First push-up failure last night.  I couldn't reach the required number on the last set of five, even with 90s rest between sets.  Squats start tonight - and my initial test reported me as below average, so this could be really tough.

• DT19DT19 ✭✭✭

The weight gain, sitting at home all week eating crap, is a concern.

Procedure done, just in recovery. Spoke with consultant and he said up to two weeks which is fine, however aneathetist had less good news and said it could take 6 weeks before I'm feeling in full flow again and not to expect a pb in London. Hopefully that is absolute worst case.

Rather, no, who is he?