too big to run?

hi all
I'm new to this forum and was hoping for some advice please. 

Six months ago I weighed 312 pounds.  Since then I have lost 42 pounds and got a LOT fitter (I am now at the gym for over an hour 5 times a week).   My aim is to be able to run - I am booked onto a race for life 5k in June.   I tried running at Christmas but all I did was hurt my achilles tendons.  

My question is - do you think its too soon for me to run?   I am terrified of undoing all my hard work but I'm aware that if I don't start running soon I won't be able to run the race for life.. 

thanks in advance for any help

Elaine 

Tagged:

Comments

• NickW2NickW2 ✭✭✭
    I'm by no means an expert, but I would think that the key is to build up slowly. For example to start with just run 30s at a time and walk in between until you feel recovered.
  • i'd suggest some fast walking to start with to give your leg muscles, tendons etc a bit of time to get used to the new activity, and gradually introduce a bit of jogging into the walk... and gradually change the walk/run balance over time. you can always run/walk 'race for life' as many others do.... it would a shame to get injured and stop your progress when you've obviously made such a massive effort and such impressive progress.... good luck!

also, worth googling 'Couch to 5k' and seeing if that plan works for you.
    lets be honest.... its all prep for an Ironman on my 100th birthday
  • Any time anyone starts running its a bit of a shock to the system.

The couch to 5k is a good programme  - that's got a lot of people running. 

I'd not worry too much  though - you can always walk bits if you want. 
  • Thanks for your comments, I will starts couch to 5k this week 
  • Hi, I started couch to 5k nine weeks ago. I'm big too and I wanted to follow a plan to avoid injury. So far so good... I just keep reminding myself to go slow and not get carried away...good luck!