New to running looking advice please xx

Hi Im a newbie - hope it's ok to post here image  I downloaded the app couch to 5k run 1 min - walk 3.  Did ok on day one, day 2 (3 days apart) i did the half hour and then decided to walk quickly for another 30 mins as I felt really good.  Got home and as I was going upstairs my knee was making a horrible grinding noise - no pain.  Rested for a week went out for a gentle walk and my knee and lower back is in agony.  Totally gutted as it has taken me a long time to get into 'the zone'. I am taking ibuprofen and putting bio freeze on my back.  Going to get a sports massage on Friday (dreading it), any advice would be very very gratefully received.  I have the proper running shoes but not sure if they need updated as they are 5 years old (used a gait analysis).  Thank you xx

Comments

• First of all, well done for starting, that is in my opinion the most difficult bit. I think the best thing to do is to see a physio (unsure if the person you're having a sports massage from is a physio?) They will give you lots of advice and point you in the right direction. I went months self diagnosing through Google, went and saw a physio and she sorted me out properly. Don't waste time like I did ????
  • Hopefully it will settle with the massage- I presume the person giving you the massage will be able to identify the problem, if not, perhaps a sports physio opinion might help. Don't worry, I'm sure it's just a temporary set back.

• Thanks guys - yes he is a physio so hopefully after my beating(lol massage) I will feel a bit better xx

• Hi, I restarted C25k a few weeks ago having quit smoking.  Last time I did it I found I was trying too hard, shuffling along too fast and trying to fit in too many runs in the time available.  i injured myself. This time I'm taking it really slowly, having rest days and even when I feel I want to do more I don't. Hopefully I'll avoid the pain this time! I feel for you and wish you a speedy recovery!