Help with calf muscle pain

Hi all

I'm a newbie and have been running for a couple of years. Last year I managed to run pretty much pain free running 5-7k three times a week. But this year has been a struggle. In March/April I had pain in my right calf muscle during a run of about 6k so walked the rest of the circuit. I tried to run again after a weeks rest but it still hurt so took a month off to rest.

Last Sunday at a gym I did about 5k on a treadmill with no issues. But during the following week, I think Thursday/Friday I could feel a bit of soreness in my right calf which I thought was odd as It was about 4 days later.

On Friday I did a short warm up on some steps, standing on the edge and raising up and down about 15 times and then started a run but only got about half a kilometre as my right calf was feeling sore and I was running awkwardly trying to take the weight off the leg. I decided to stop before I did anything else.

Does anybody have any advice/tips on how to get back to running without injury. Mapmyrun is telling me to change my trainers as I have run 644km in them. Could it be my footwear?

Thanks in advance.

Comments

• GradgeGradge ✭✭✭
    New trainers will do no harm IMO but only if properly fitted. I tore a calf muscle in January and had 8 weeks off.I now use a pair of compression socks on most runs which seems to offer some support.There are plenty exercises can be done to help strengthen the calf.
  • Yogi XYogi X ✭✭
    > @Gradge said:
    > New trainers will do no harm IMO but only if properly fitted. I tore a calf muscle in January and had 8 weeks off.I now use a pair of compression socks on most runs which seems to offer some support.There are plenty exercises can be done to help strengthen the calf.

Thanks. How long did you leave it before doing any stretches and calf strengthening exercises? At the moment it's aching so I have been wearing a compression sleeve during the day and resting/icing in the evening.
  • mharfmharf ✭✭