Running With a Hand Torch

Ok. I'm not really sure why I'm posting this as it seems that it's fairly obvious, and I don't want it to be another 'what headtorch' thread, but does anybody have any experience running with a hand torch ?

The reason I'm asking is that I'm currently feeling very sorry for myself as I fell off a kerb in training two weeks ago, spraining my ankle and missing my main race of the year.

I've plenty of experience running with a headtorch and have a Magicshine for winter trail running that's incredibly bright, but am looking for a regualr hand torch. Funnily enough, as somebody pointed out to me I managed to spend last winter injury free running in the dark along rough, potholed tracks through woods and forests but injured myself on a normal well lit street.

I'm thinking of something that would be suitable for running around a reasonably well lit housing estate. What happened to me was that there was a gap of around 250 yards with no street lighting where I couldn't see the kerb and sure enough I fell off it. Duh !

I don't really want to wear a headtorch, but would rather just carry a handtorch and switch it on when needed. Does anybody have any recommendations on what to use or even suggestions how to carry something without dropping it ? 

Comments

• Plenty of light but powerful torches out there.

Fenix is a good make but expensive.

You can get ultrafire torches off eBay that are cheaper.

Most of them come with a strap so you can carry them easily.