Kent Coastal Half Marathon - Sun 3rd Sep 2017

Just entered the above as a warm up for Chicago...

Looking at previous results it looks like a tough course - anyone experienced it first hand?

Comments

• That's funny. I've also entered this race as a warm-up race for Chicago :). I've never done the race before though. I've heard it's a bit hilly, and the wind can be a problem since it's on the coast.
  • Good stuff!

How's Chicago training going? What are you targeting for the half and the full maras??

I know last year this was a really hot day which would have slowed everyone down, but like you say I've also heard it a bit hilly....

• The training's going good thanks. However, I started a bit late as I had a long race mid-June and it took me a month to get over it, so I only started training hard in mid-July.

I'm hoping for sub-3 at Chicago, but I reckon I'm at 3:05-3:10 shape at the moment so it may be a bit of a stretch. For the half, I'd like to beat my time from the Great Northern run last year and go sub-1:27, but that be a little tough if the course really is hilly.

How's your training going? We only have about six weeks to go then it's taper time :-).
  • That must have been some long race in June! I've yet to do anything longer than 26.2 but might be tempted one day....

Still plenty of training days left so that sub-3 might still be on!

• Good luck anyone running this on Sunday - still don't really know what to expect as the course is described as undulating/fairly flat, but other comments describe it as pretty hilly!

Guess everyone has different interpretations based on what they're used to, so as I hail from East Anglia I expect it will be mountainous!