Am I past my best?!

I'm close to 42, and I've been running regularly for the last 7+ years. I've run 16 marathons, Spring and Autumn each year and adding a couple of extra in here and there. Number 17 is in 3 weeks. I've always trained hard each time (500+ miles).

My pb's were recorded in 2015, marathon 3:13 and half at the GNR in 1:27, but since then I've slowed down significantly. My legs just feel dead. Previously I gave myself a week off after each marathon but this time I gave myself a couple of months off after London in April (3:46) and I've stripped my training dramatically back since then, started crossfit to mix things up, but my legs still just feel dead/heavy each time I run, even from the start of a short run. I ran 20 in training today in 3:06, the same as last weekend, and I felt destroyed at the end.

Anyone got any views or experienced anything similar? Is age/mileage just catching up on me? Or is there a solution? Would massage help perhaps?
Tagged:

Comments

• Its probably your training thats at fault, maybe too much running, not enough other stuff.

We're all different so I won't advise you in specifics but I was roughly in your position in about 97 or 8, trying to break 3 hours but failing. I'd tried upping my mileage and just ended up, like you, knackered, and could only just get under 3 1/2.

So in 99 I changed tack, swapped quantity for quality, and ended up doing, per week, 1 2hour circuit, 3 weight sessions, 1 speed work session, 1 hill rep session and 1 long slow run, so in any week I never really ran more then 30miles.

That year I ran a 3:03 aged 50, so close, and an easy run. Next year same plan but blistered badly and from then its been downhill ever since.

So, at your age, it can still be done, you just need to adjust your training to whatever suits you best. What that is you probably won't get from a forum, you might need a proper trainer/training plan.

• Thanks senidM, that's useful.