Hi all newbie here.

Hi all I've just started up regular running again after a 10 year gap, I have done a few odd ones in between but now I've started back up a bit more seriously. I find it helps with the siactica I've had for years. I started back about 2 weeks ago only just over 1 mile but I want to get back into it steadily, but I'm achieving 8:45 minute miles so I'm quite please with that. Tonight I've just started adding more distant just under, 1.5 mile tonight. 

Comments

• Good luck. I expected to find a question here though?

• Hello, welcome and good luck with your running.
  • Hi Newbie ;) keep running!
  • JGavJGav ✭✭✭
    Run slower before adding distance.   Better to build up to running continuously for 30 minutes than try to go too fast
  • I am also a newbie. But I mean I am not started yet. I am 58 and I must weight alot about 18 stone. 5 foot 6. I am going to start on the slider I have here 20 mins a day. I am looking for a bit of encouragement and support. I live in Brighton UK. I stopped smoking for 9 months but have noticed I am smoking since a holiday. I need to commit to stop again and a date perhaps. Well the packet runs out soon....I am a long way off running. I did it once and used to get exhausted to run for a minute even..so it put me off. I struggled to breath actually...but I want to get there..does not have to break records just want to be able to run for 10 or 20 mins would be great. What hope is there for me. Good luck to Skywalker 2 it seems his body remembers he was a runner once.
  • I also have a stent fitted to my heart they encourage exercise for this..but can get alittle angina sometimes through stress or exercise so guess its best to start off in slow motion a question of less is more! I really like people to encourage me. and help me to going motivation is an issue.