Options

Moraghan Training - Stevie G

Comments

• Options
    Pete, I'm no expert, but done no shortage of reading when I've been injured.
    Like you say, mid/forefoot running puts more strain on the calf - just think of sprinting on the track or hills. That's when they're engaged. However, if you somehow manage to heel strike going up hill, or your forefoot is up when doing so (excessive dorsiflexion), then that will extend the calf and do you no favours - this tends to happen when fatigued and up hill form goes.

For the record, this is how I ruined my calf after the Combe Gibbet last year - working and fatiguing myself on the ups, followed by poor form on the downs (slappy feet).

Heel raises were the way to go for me, doing that routinely for a few minutes 3 or 4 times a day seemed to help.

As for changing your gait - some people swear by it and say it can be done yada yada, but there's a reason you run like you do - due to your anatomical intricacies and load, at the end of the day everyone is different and so don't run the same way economically. I view gait change in the same way I view cadence change - not worth the injury!

That's my two pence, it'll be worth seeing what the others say.
  • Options
    RicFRicF ✭✭✭
    edited March 2018
    Well Pete, I've spent many an hour messing about with running styles, so I might have some idea what works, or should, but quite often doesn't.

For a start, at the start of a runners career, there's the likely hood of them running as fast as they can.

They'll have a set of muscles already in place, so they use those as best they can. But the problem here is, those muscles which aren't necessarily the most efficient for running get used more than the one's which should be. Eh!

It's the reason why some runners have an awful style. They start out with it, and simply compound it with extra training. When they should really start by adopting an efficient style and then develop it from there. Probably never happens mind.