Boston (Mass.) Marathon 2018

With two weeks to go, just wondering if anyone else is heading stateside for the Boston Marathon?

I'm running this year and now getting mildly terrified - I've never done any race overseas, never mind a marathon. I'm not good with lack of control and so many things are outside of my control with travel... but fingers crossed! I've started writing lists to off-set all the other variables :lol:

Final long run banked yesterday and now for the dreaded taper.

Tagged:

Comments

• Not this year but I've done it a few times.  If you're staying anywhere in Boston itself there's not a lot to worry about, it's all well organised.  Just remember some old gear to wear to the start if it's cold - you can't take anything on the bus to the start that you're not going to consume, carry on the run or throw away.

You'll have a great time.
  • helly dhelly d ✭✭✭
    I'm doing it this year (not for the first time) so ask away if you want to know anything.
    The weather can go either way (hypothermia or sunburn) - check the forecast for Hopkinton as well as for Boston, it can vary.
    Don't know your schedule but there's now a parkrun if you're looking for like-minded souls on the Saturday morning.
    And as Cheerful Dave says, enjoy it. This city loves its marathon and anyone who runs it.

• Thanks Dave! I read a suggestion of taking a towel to wrap round me/sit on - so I'll be doing that, along with the usual clothing to be dropped and donated.

Good to hear there's someone else heading over helly :smile:

I do have a couple of questions - since you're both old hands...

I'm staying in Cambridge and am planning to get the green line from Lechmere to Boylston on the morning of the race - does that sound sensible? Will the Green Line subway be running on the day?