Strava no longer tracking me on GPS properly

ftm42ftm42 ✭✭✭
edited April 2018 in Gear
Loved strava until recently - now it won't give me a sensible route and credits me with 10k when I've only run 6! It's driving me to distraction [1st world problems], but means I can no longer track my progress as the speed and distance is all wrong. 

My routes have sections [sorry segments...] which consist of wiggly lines, as if it's tracking the movement of my upper arm [where I keep my phone in a holder]. I've been using strava for several months, but this has been happening for a few weeks now on short runs, long runs, mixed terrain runs... Sometimes it's fine, but more often than not it's just plain wrong.

I have had loads of advice from strava to no avail. Any tips? I use a blackberry Keyone [android] mobile
Tagged:

Comments

• Are you waiting for a signal before setting off ?  If it hasn't got full satellite lock then it does track runs like this.  I think it goes green or blips or something - at least it did on my smart phone. 
  • Richard  2Richard 2 ✭✭✭
    That route seems to wiggle all over the place check your gps settings do you have some advanced auto correct thing on?

Does the same thing happen on runkeepper or endemondo?
  • ftm42ftm42 ✭✭✭
    Cougie tried making absolutely sure I had full signal while walking dog yesterday - seemed ok.  I have a run planned this pm so will try again.

Richard gps settings are as they always were. Only been an issue in last couple of weeks.
  • It's happened on my wife's phone a few times - I suspect she's not got proper lock before setting off.
    I think it happened once on my phone out of the hundreds of times i'd used it to track things. 
  • ftm42ftm42 ✭✭✭
    Tried making absolutely sure that I had full signal before starting but didn't make any difference 
  • ftm42ftm42 ✭✭✭