Flat tyre

I am just about to start triathlon training, I am doing FLM and don't think I can maintain motivation through running alone for the rest of the year and so the change.

It's a long time since I rode a bike alot and the tyres on my new bike look very thin and fragile (especially at 80-100psi) What do I do if 30 miles from home a tyre goes flat? Is it a case of carrying a spare and trying to change it on the side of the road with mini tyre levers etc ?

Comments

• This is of interest to me also as im new to cycling.

I have spare tubes and a bike tool and will be carrying the kit in case of puncture.

Guess the best plan is to practice changing the tube a couple of times in the comfort of your garage so when it happens for real you know what your doing.

Pump or Aerosol?

Not sure whats best to take on my rises, do you experienced peeps use a pump or one of those aerosol bike inflator gadget thingies?
  • Its worth pumping your tyres a bit harder than 100psi if they can go harder, this will cut down the chance of a puncture.

its also worth having a set of tyres for training on, as race tyres are generally to light and fragile for everyday riding.

Save your Aerosol for race day and take a pump on your training rides as these can fail. It may be worth taking an Aerosol on one training ride so you can get used to using it (thats providing you puncture)

There is a tyre called a Specialized Armadillo, this is a training tyre that can virtually guarantee no puntures!! Honest!!!
  • Oh dear. Erm, punctures are quite rare. (or they were until I just said that !)

Obviously keep an eye out for what you are riding over. I once blew both tyres by hitting a pothole coming off a roundabout in full tuck position on the tribars. DOh !
    Hedge cuttings can be nasty though - watch out if that's happened.