Advice required on hydration / energy please

I'm still new to running, although completed a 10k and have ran HM in training a couple of times - Got my first HM booked Oxford in October.

Anyhow had done 5 and 6 milers through the week and after a rest day yesterday decided on a long run which took me for a PB of 2.5 hours covering over 16 miles. It was for over an hour in rain and strong winds which soaked my t-shirt and clung to me, and my feet were soaking and wrinkled - no problem with that, just so chuffed i had ran for so long.

But at the end i was in desperate need of a banana and water, so thought i'm probably missing something and i've heard about these gels you can take.

At this distance / duration do you think i would benefit from them, and if so which ones are best?

I've surprised myself at the distance i've covered in this mornings run, so am thinking to maintain and increase the long runs slowly and train for a marathon in spring and let my HM on October be part of the training.

Thanks for any advice you can give.

Comments

• SHADESSHADES ✭✭✭✭
    For that distance and at this time of year I think you should certainly have a drink, take a bottle with you or some money and stop at a shop/garage to buy water.   Over 15 miles I would advise some fuel too, you can buy gels but they are overpriced sugar, a few jelly babies for now will do the trick.   Eat a good high carb breakfast too so you are fuelled before you leave home.

If you're going to consider a marathon you need to read up on fuelling and hydration so you get the best from your training, but don't read stuff written by the manufacturers of sports drinks or gels, they will tell you that you need lots and lots of their products and you don't.   Read up what other runners do and then try out various formats and you will soon find what works for you.