Healthy Beginner to Marathon in 32 weeks?

Hi All,

I am a healthy fit female who hits gym atleast 4 times a week, I kind of do strenght training and HIIT exercises ,follow a good balanced diet/healthy life style in general. I have signed up for London marathon 2019 so have 8 months of time to train myself. I am fairly new to running I must say though I ran several times on treadmill as part of my gym routine. I have started regular runs from last week and aiming to finish my first 5k by September end. Though I don't have experience in running for a race all I can say is that I am ready to dedicate time and energy to practice long runs provided my health conditions continue to be normal. Am not very particular about the marathon finish time and also not personally strict about running only for the entire course but want to finish under 5.5 hours and if suitable run/walk approach with running being the major part ofcourse.

I have started the RW 6 week 5k training plan for beginners, I feel like doing more than what the plan says but keeping it low and steady at the moment to build my strenght gradually than to go fast and hit the wall.

Is this something am over estimating myself or realistically a doable thing?

Comments

• Also how useful it is to sign-up for Good Run Guide. Appreciate your help