Gait Analysis, How can these shoes work?, Ankle pain and so much more

Morning all,

A bit of a mixed bag this one and no doubt answered a million times previous but just in case someone has the magic bullet I thought why not fire away.

I am new to running but I come from being a very keen and seasoned cyclist, I cycle about 8-10'000 miles a year and my second sport is Mountaineering and rock climbing.

Whilst I love cycling having done it for years and years I really needed something new to keep me motivated, I was hoping to drop my mileage down on the bike and compensate with running, not to mention it would give me option in the winter to head abroad on a cheap training weekend and not have to bring a bike box.

I will say at this stage I did have a ankle sprain about 18 months ago and by all accounts I was told it has heeled and it does not cause any issues when I do my other activities.

I started off slowly doing a few 20 minute trail runs on the fire roads around Epping forest and slowly increased my mileage over the next few weeks to where I was running 5k 2-3 times each week but having some ankle soreness after. I stuck to only running 5k as I did not want to over train and after 6 weeks my right ankle was killing me. I had a Gait Analysis done at a leading London store and I was told my right ankle overpronates slightly but nothing major. The shoes I was wearing (New Balance Hierro 3s) were said to be perfect for my running style?.

I took 9 days fully off running icing the ankle every evening and only cycled on my turbo trainer to try and rest everything and the pain had totally gone, I was able to snag through a shrewd negotiation a as new Reebok Treadmill for peanuts and jumped on it yesterday to ease myself back into running, within 30 seconds my ankle was killing me again and at this stage I started to think it was my shoes.