Loss of control over leg while running and footdrop

2»

Comments

• 1owrez1owrez ✭✭✭
    Mr P - how active is your life away from running - and do you do any other exercises apart from running? Note I am not an expert on this but I am currently suffering from similar issues off and on. Basically I spend vast swathes of my life sat on my arse, and, even though I run and run and run, the perspective I've been given is that combination of inactivity/activity is contributing to a gradual decay/degradation of all other supporting systems causing a range of symptoms, including quite a severe left foot slap, toe dive, soleus, calf and quad dysfunction that creeps in more and more the longer I run, but can also surprisingly cause me to miss a step just walking around when I am not in shorts occasionally. I am currently dragging my arse through a much broader range of movements and exercises and finding it a big help, not only in addressing my symptoms but in becoming fitter and stronger overall.
  • NessieNessie ✭✭✭
    That's interesting Lowrez.  I also have similar issues (right leg) even when walking a couple of miles - bizarrely less pronounced when running than walking.  I also spend a lot of time sitting (desk job for 30+ years) so yes, general atrophy of supporting muscles/ligaments makes sense.  In fact, now that I think of it, my lower right leg possibly suffers most because I tend to cross right over left when I'm sitting.

Time to address the "use it or lose it" issue!
  • 1owrez1owrez ✭✭✭