Groin pain when running and after

Apologies if this has been asked before....

I'm relatively new to running so looking for some advice.  I have a pain/tightness right at the top of my thigh/groin when I've been running for a wee while, not huge distances, did 4 miles today at the Portobello Promathon and it was pretty painful from around mile 2, just seems to get tighter and tighter the further I go, now really tight, stretching it out is proving to be.....interesting!

Any ideas what it could be or how I could resolve this issue?  It is predominently left side but today the right was joining in too!

Many thanks and all the best for a happy and injury free 2013.

Comments

• I had similar problem last year but I actually eventually tore my adductor and it took months to heal. My advice would be to see a sports therapist to see if its a tight spot that can be worked on. My issue was ultimately an instability in my hips (very clicky!) which caused me to overwork my quads.

I would definitely suggest getting it looked at now. I ran and ran until I tore the muscle like a fool!

However someone else might have less hysterical advice!!
  • Cheers Franners! I have to say that today they are really painful, I'm walking talking much shorter strides than I normally would.  Did you have massage once you'd found out the issue?  Are you back running now?

• Oh yes! Back running with no problems. The only reason I was out so long was because I kept running on it even after I'd hurt myself which was stupid but I was training for a marathon and got silly!

I had it massaged after injury and it slowly got better.

I know a groin pull is quite common and I had lots of different advice re: mine. If I had sorted it earlier then I wouldn't have been off running for so long. Would live to know how you get on!