Completely new to running and need advice !

Hey everyone. I have been for 4 runs so far and I am completely new to it all, but most importantly stupidly unfit as well. I’m not overweight in the slightest so it’s not like I’m struggling that way, I have a tracker on my wrist to track my progress and on my first run it said I was going at a mile pace of 15 minutes per mile. So far I can’t even run a mile without stopping and the furthest I have got is 0.75 of a mile. After 4 runs my mile time is now down to 11:45 but I’m concentrating more on being able to run further for longer then I can build on my speed. Any tips or help appreciated, on a morning I cover 2 miles both running and walking

Comments

• Good day CDurant and welcome to the forum. I am also new to the forum and have a separate thread detailing my training.

Are you training for anything specifically, like an event? Or are you simply looking to gain some fitness through running?

If it's the former, there are 'beginner' training guides on this site that will give you a long term training plan framework to govern your progress. If it's the latter, then I think you should look walk/jog to a 5k/3m distance then gradually work on your pace ? Once you have managed to run that distance with less and less walking, your minute per mile pace will tumble. Gait analysis will help you avoid injury as you find your running form, some running shoes/trainers that ally to your gait are a must. You can seek assistance from a professional or talk to a staff member at a sports store ( a quick look online will sort you out)

Once you are up to a 5km/3 mile on a pace of around 10 min/mil (which for me is a brisk jog) and are doing that comfortably, you will have established an excellent platform from which to then decide how you want to progress.