Muscles not tired, but out of breath

I had my first run in 8 month yesterday, i got to a total of 1.3km in 6:28min, but gassed out after around 3 and just continued.

Is c25k good for beginners ?

Tips on breathing ?

Comments

• I hear couch to 5K is amazing not done it myself though even as a beginner. Most gyms run a Couch to 5 K class now days which I am considering. I am completely new to running and suffer with Asthma so tend to just take one out and don't worry about time did my first outdoor 5K yesterday in 36 minutes.
  • GuarddogGuarddog ✭✭✭
    Improvement in breathing happens as part of training. The more you do, ultimately, the easier it gets as you become aerobically fitter.

If you're getting out breath at this point it may be an idea to slow down your runs. It looks like you're running at around 8:30-9 minute mile pace, which if you've not run much recently might be pushing it a bit. If you slow down and concentrate just on time on your feet you should get there.

And C25K would be a good programme to follow as it's specifically devised for beginners.
  • <blockquote class="Quote">
    <div class="QuoteAuthor"><a href="/profile/Guarddog">Guarddog</a> said:</div>
    <div class="QuoteText">Improvement in breathing happens as part of training. The more you do, ultimately, the easier it gets as you become aerobically fitter.

If you're getting out breath at this point it may be an idea to slow down your runs. It looks like you're running at around 8:30-9 minute mile pace, which if you've not run much recently might be pushing it a bit. If you slow down and concentrate just on time on your feet you should get there.

And C25K would be a good programme to follow as it's specifically devised for beginners.</div>
    </blockquote>
    Its slightly annoying as i got my 1.5 mile to 11:30 after 2 months of trainning, just need to get back to that. My cardio is good as i go out on my road bike alot, i do around 20 miles a day on average per week, so 150 miles.