Sub 3h15

Comments

• Welcome, mike.  FWIW I didn't do 70mpw until I had been running for about 6 years, and I probably made the jump from 50mpw to 70mpw too quickly: I have slightly grim memories of being tired all the time for about 2 months the first time I did P&D's up to 70mpw schedule. It did pay off with a 12 minute pb, but on reflection I probably would have got a fairly big PB from 60mpw and then could have done 70mpw for the next campaign.  I find 60mpw is my real sweet spot: 4 weeks at 60mpw brings enormous aerobic gains for me, and then the 70mpw weeks are a bonus.

Drum roll.... I did my first speed work in 4 months last night!  Not much: just 2 x 2km at about marathon pace (came out at 4.11/km for the first 2km chunk and 4.12/km for the second 2km chunk) and then 4 x 500m at about half marathon pace (around 3.50/km for the 500m sections).  Legs feel pretty ok, so hopefully I can gradually extend that over the coming weeks.  I might even get to race in March!
  • Mike

I never got those sort of miles. This is my preparation for VLM 2012 so it started in October 2011. The basic plan was to run shorter races over the summer of 2011 following a spring marathon and that culminated with the Cabbage Patch 10 in October in 59:26. Following that 10, I built up to 20 before the end of 2011, a mile a week. The hardest was that week with the 19 mile run knowing that just one mile extra and 20 would be done but having the discipline to stop and go out a few weeks later and do the 20. That was the base building phase and getting the miles up slowly and controlled.

The campaign was roughly P&D up to 55 miles but I stretched a few of the long runs. The key session was the mid week run so once I was at a long run of 20 I started to introduce a second medium long run so my the end of the campaing I was doing a 13 or 14 mile as well as the long one plus one faster session. The other days were general or recovery.

• OO54OO54 ✭✭✭