Suitable for a first time ultra?

I'm doing my first ultra run/walk in July.
The plan atm is to run 10k, walk 10k, run 10k and repeat you get the idea...

So....I've been looking at hydration vests (the event is supported every 10k I believe so hopefully I won't have to carry too much)

Do you think this hydration vest is suitable?
https://www.decathlon.co.uk/gilet-trail-5l-water-id_8489223.html?iv_=__iv_p_1_g_69894285584_c_316423025503_w_aud-308557095093:pla-329717981422_n_g_d_c_v__l__t__r_1o7x_pla_y_15177021_f_online_o_2508211_z_GB_i_en_j_329717981422_s__e__h_1006476_ii__vi__&gclid=Cj0KCQiA14TjBRD_ARIsAOCmO9Y12OFwtcx4isyvHQr-WLcLJogDVIqlQsubYh0HWqPd40E2AVTLCwsaArR9EALw_wcB

Or am I wildly off the mark and will need to take way more fluids than 5l between each checkpoint?

Any help as I'm a total novice greatly appreciated :)

Comments

• YnnecYnnec ✭✭✭
    Hello, if you drink 5l every 10k you'll soon develop hyponatremia:

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hyponatremia

Depending on the weather, 400ml-800ml per hour will more than suffice.

A handheld like this:

https://www.networldsports.co.uk/single-running-water-bottle-500ml.html?gclid=Cj0KCQiA14TjBRD_ARIsAOCmO9Z0OsIrNFJdDRsg95naepUcZmMib501_vFvEjHvEryXOMbLEI5nxEgaAiJaEALw_wcB

will easily keep you hydrated between checkpoints. Just drink to thirst.

Good luck
  • ChloboChlobo ✭✭✭
    Thank you Ynnec,

Sorry I wasn't very clear, it wasn't my aim to drink that much I was just wondering if that sounded like too little/much to carry with checkpoints every 10k.

Great I'm glad that smaller vest looks suitable as I don't want to carry much extra weight.

Eeeeeekkkee I'm excited and terrified in equal measures about this challenge! :)