running at a high HR for extended periods

I have been running seriously for about 6 years now and have done 10 HM races. My age is 54 and my max HR is about 175 and RHR sits as low as 32 when I am relaxed. I tend to run 75% of the time at an aerobic pace with HR in the 130 - 135 range. Once a week I go with a younger colleague and its more high intensity. between 5 - 9 mile runs usually at a much quicker pace than my more relaxed runs, but you need some high intensity right? 

Last night we did a 5 miler and I averaged sub 8 min miles (good for me) but HR was averaging 159 over the whole run and peaking out at 175. I am training for a HM in spring and would love to be able to average sub 8 min miles but am worried that doing 13.1 miles at this sort of pace could be to much. Is it?

I have done HMs as I said but its only recently that I have had the luxury of being able to monitor HR regularly.

Comments

• SHADESSHADES ✭✭✭✭
    James - if your HR peaked at 175 on your fast 5 miler then your MHR is probably a fair bit higher than 175.   If you reached your MHR in training you would feel like throwing up/or almost in need of oxygen.

But there's no reason that with training you could improve on your HM PB.  Lots of slow aerobic training runs and some faster work too.  You don't say what your weekly mileage is, you may need to increase that to improve your endurance. 
  • thanks, weekly mileage is about 20, done nearly 1000 miles this year so far. I tried to gauge MHR by running all out up a well known killer hill and felt like you described and my HR was showing 176.
  • SHADESSHADES ✭✭✭✭
    james - your weekly mileage is quite low if you want to improve your half marathon time.   Maybe start to increase your mileage gradually and that will improve your ability to hold pace over longer distances.