Paris Marathon and not enough training

Hello, It's been a little while since I've been on the forum.

A little background, I've been running for a few years now. I've taken part in a fair few 5k / 10k / half marathons. My PB's are as follows.
5k = 23.03
10k = 52.04
Half =1hr 55mins

Ok I need a little advice, I have the Paris Marathon coming up on 14th April and my training is a little behind schedule. 

Unfortunately I managed to break my collarbone 8 weeks ago on a MTB trail, and this really put me behind with my training.

As this is going to be my first full marathon I thought I would try and take part and get back to training as soon as possible.

I've now been back in training for the past 5 weeks, starting off very light for the first few weeks.

2 weeks ago I managed to finish the Cambridge half marathon, 2 hours and 2 minutes.

Training seems to be going ok, but.. My longest run to date was yesterday. I managed to run 16 miles (a bit of pain in the collarbone area but I'm working on that with my physio)

The training plan I've been using is the 'Improver's 16 week marathon schedule'

And when I say using, I used bits of it (due to my injury and general work commitments)

I wouldn't class myself as majorly experienced runner, but I'd like to think I've done enough to take part in the Paris Marathon. 

So any tips on how to treat this final 4 weeks would be much appreciated, all training tips and advice would be greatly appreciated! 

Nigel

Comments

• SHADESSHADES ✭✭✭✭
    Nigel - you don't say how well you recover from your long runs.   I would suggest that the next 4 weekends for your long runs you do 18, 20, 14, 10.

There's no real catch up that you can do having missed time due to injury so focus on getting to the start line healthy and injury free.

As it's your first marathon as long as you finish you are guaranteed a PB so enjoy the day.   First marathon is really about dealing with the distance and the event and making it a positive experience.