Struggled finishing 1/2 marathon and full Marathon in 7 weeks.

Hi

I have been running on and off for 5 years and I am following a marathon plan running 4 times per week (26-32 miles per week), but yesterday I struggled finishing a 1/2 marathon (1hr 57) and I have the full Marathon in 7 weeks.

Plus the plan seems a bit severe as I get one day off (today) and then have 7 mile tomorrow and 5 miles Wed... so really just the one day break, plus an 18 mile long run this Sat. I know I'll slow down the run for the marathon, but to be honest it all seems a bit much. Any advice?

Thanks

Best Answer

Answers

• DaisydooDaisydoo ✭✭✭
    Hi RonanM

I'm pretty new to here and running. Sorry to hear that you are struggling . I'm around 4 weeks off my first marathon and I felt very flat after my half marathon which was at the end of Feb. And well done on your time. 

I have completely changed how I run as I was really struggling to extend my distances. I did 14 miles in December and injured myself, so slowly got up to 15 before the half. Since the half I've been using the Jeff Galloway run walk method and it's made a big difference. I've tried a few different times and settled on running 3 min then walking 1 and then run. It's not really altered my pace radically, it's fairly similar, and I manged to get a 20 mile run last week and felt OK. Knackered but not in distress. I have been running 3 times a week (usually 2 runs of 6 to 8 miles and my long one) plus a pilates class. 

Maybe have a go at run waking this week and see if it helps. There's lots of info online. 

I hope this helps. I know what you mean about it feeling like it's too much....I have had several wobbles but still seem to be running! Not sure why some days...low level madness maybe 😉 
  • Thanks Daisydoo