Older runner, can't get faster.

I'm an older female runner in my late fifties, of fairly normal weight, and I've been running for five years now. My issue is I've always been slow and I never seem to speed up. Brand new runners of my age join the group and are faster than me straight away. I've tried running more, running longer, doing sprints (which are laughable in their non-sprintiness), doing hills, pretty much everything I can think of but I still can't break a 12 min/mile pace. My heart rate always goes up too high (180+) almost straight away and I can't breathe if I go any faster. I've had health checks and have a bit of treated exercise-induced asthma but no heart issues, normal bp etc. I'm just depressed at always being so far at the back of the pack. Any suggestions please??

Comments

• I'm the same- been running for longer, but getting slower year on year- I'm fed up.  Supposed to be doing a half in 4 weeks and considering dropping out.  My sympathies.  I'm reading up tonight on any tips and you have my virtual support as it's so frustrating

I was doing 10 minute miles 3 years ago- I'm carrying a stone of extra weight but not sure I can lose it in 4 weeks!

• GuarddogGuarddog ✭✭✭
    Hello tigersnail - generally to increase speed you need to shake up the training a bit. You write that you have tried sprints and hill running, but how have these been structured and how long did you do them for?

Speed isn't so much about sprinting, but it is about pushing yourself a bit harder for periods of time on some of your training runs. These can be intervals, threshold running, progressions or fartleks.