Is my 5km time good? - Height, weight and body fat considerations

Hi all,

I am a complete beginner at running but I want to get better at it because I want to run an ultramarathon in a few years. I have been taking part in weekly local 5km parkruns for about 4 weeks now and have been averaging a time of 30 minutes. My Personal Best was 29 minutes 28 seconds.

Here are the numbers:
Distance: 5km
AverageTime: 30 minutes
Height: 6ft
Weight: 108kg
Body fat %: About 35%
Not a smoker, not a drinker, *I only drink water and nothing else*. However, I love sugary and fatty foods and eat plenty of it....I am very unhealthy.

Taking the above figures into account, is my 30minute 5km time good?

Are there any beginner tips you would give me? How should I improve my 5km running time?

Thanks!
Tagged:

Comments

• I wouldn't get to hung up on whether the time is any good but whether you are enjoying yourself.
     As regards to improving, you have already pointed out one problem maybe holding you back-diet!  I'm sure others will have more useful advice to say than me tho. 
  • TrogsTrogs ✭✭✭
    edited May 2019
    Apart from your weekly parkrun, what other training do you do?
    Generally in order to improve you need to run at least three times per week, mostly at an easy (conversational) pace. As your fitness improves your parkrun times should come down.
    Also improve your diet by cutting down on the sugary foods.
  • @Trogs I used to attend weekly circuit training classes for about 5 months but I haven't been in the last 4 weeks. I essentially replaced circuit training with weekly parkruns. Apart from the weekly parkruns, I occasionally do a 20 minute run per week.
  • GuarddogGuarddog ✭✭✭