holding a conversation whiles running long distance

Hi, first time posting on this forum would be grateful if someone could help me with a question I had. Which is when doing long distance runs are you only supposed to run at a pace you can hold somewhat of a conversation at?

To give some background, I have been training for the past 9 months where I weight lift 3 times a week and I try getting in some cardio on a treadmill, so I train on Monday, Wednesday and Friday. On Monday and Wednesday, I normally go for more high intense short runs where I try running a 1km in around 4 minutes. The treadmills speed ranges from 0 to 20, so for me to get 1km in 4 mins I tend to go for a light jog on speed 10 for a minute and then for last 3 minutes I run on 17 and then last 30 seconds this is increased to 18 or 19. I try doing 2 rounds of this with 3 minute breaks in between so getting 2km in total.

On Friday I go for a longer run where I run for 65 minutes in total, my personal best so far is running 13.83km. To achieve this, I start on speed 15.5 for 20 minutes, and then 14 for 20 minutes and then 13.5 for 20 minutes. For the last 5 minutes I try getting in 4 minutes on speed 16 and 1 minute on speed 14.

To give some further background to my training, I have been doing cardio on and off for years now but have made it consistent in the last 2 years mainly for fat loss which was highly successful, so this included jogging outside and doing HIIT at home. I suffered a knee injury whiles running last year where I fell and injured my knee. This wasn’t much of a hinderance and since I have lost a lot of weight, so I decided to start going gym to add some muscle.

So, since I enjoy cardio I decided to keep it going whiles at the gym in the form of running on a treadmill. Having trained both cardio and weight lifting I enjoy both a lot but generally prefer cardio, as exercise for myself has always been about pushing my mind to its limit which cardio provides.