How much faster in an event?

Hi everyone, I'm really new to running; I just got into it around 6 or 7 weeks ago. I have been running 10km's in around 50 minutes, for example this morning I ran in 49:00. Im not really too worried about times since it is more for fun, but how much faster should i expect to be/pace myself in a race? I have my first event coming up on Wednesday and it is a 10km race. Thanks in advance for all the help! :smile:

Comments

• GuarddogGuarddog ✭✭✭
    Hi tuga78 - it's a difficult question to answer as it would depend on your development as a runner and how much training you're putting in. Certainly if you're running sub 50 for the 10K now, after 6 or 7 weeks, then I suspect there's still some time that you can take off of that with some structured training.

The question would be more to yourself of how much you think you could take off. Sometimes what holds us back is our own self imposed limitations. That's to say that you find a pace that you feel is your natural pace. To go beyond that pace requires more effort and a bit of pain. 

I would say that for a race you can possibly expect to go a bit faster as you're running with others and a certain competitiveness can enter into the equation. Good luck with it and tell us how you get on.
  • MrM2MrM2 ✭✭✭
    Hi tuga78, Guarddog is right; it's a difficult question to answer. However, the fact that you are asking the question would suggest that you are quite keen to progress. 
    I reckon that you might easily go a couple of minutes faster, on a favourable course with good conditions, if you arrive 'fresh' with no injuries.
    It can help if you know the course. Will you be running alone or with mates? How many in the event? Is it flat or hilly? Road or trails? 
    Don't know what effort you have put into your 10k training runs. My training runs over that distance would often be anything from 4-8 minutes slower than my race time.