Comrades 2020

Comments

• Peter RPeter R ✭✭✭
    I have Ironman South Africa in just over 2 weeks and that seems to be progressing as normal, and although I cant see it referred to above I guess you all saw the post from Comrades on Instagram saying currently no intention of changing but monitoring the situation.  I am qualified (C) but was hoping to do a few marathons and training runs before the big day so hopefully normal order is restored soon.

Arrived at Heathrow on Saturday morning from the USA and it was completely normal apart from the odd facemask.  

Mark: Hope you get well soon.
  • Mark, I’ve qualified at Dubai marathon. The only 2 marathons in UAE are Abu Dhabi and Dubai. The only company I know that organise ultra are Urban Ultra and they only have a 30k this month in RAK.  I was just wondering if Comrades would allow previous competitors in based on the current issues in Europe, I’m a newbie and would expect nothing less than having to qualify. Anyway hope you get well soon!

• Dubai that’s great news. <div>Having been in Dubai several times I’d rather be there right now I think than here. I’ve just witnessed a doctor knock a urine bottle over by the side of patient’s bed only to continue taking his bloods while a nurse wiped it with paper towels with her feet, picked them up wearing gloves but then opened toilet drawer with same gloves having dispensed countless towels with sand gloves, talk about cross contamination! The joys. My pain has reduced significantly so I’ve asked to be discharged in the morning then I’ll have colonoscopy at my chosen hospital. Hopefully I’ll be running by Wednesday, that will then be the longest I’ve not ran in 8 years! Meanwhile 95 days to go I think....</div>
  • Terry48Terry48 ✭✭✭
    edited March 2020
    All who have not yet booked flights from UK: