Struggling with pace

I’ve been running about 4 months now, I was a total beginner, I’m signed up to do the GNR and I can currently run approx 7/8 miles, but I struggle with pace, currently run approx 9 minute mile, when I’m running this doesn’t feel very fast, but within 3/4 miles I’m tired so I know it is too fast for me, but when I try slow down I feel like I’m practically walking, any advice is appreciated.

Comments

• SHADESSHADES ✭✭✭✭
    hev34 - you just have to learn to slow down otherwise you're going to be in for a painful and miserable GNR.  Try and relax when you run and make sure you're not getting out of breath, so still able to hold a conversation.  If you're using music then ditch that for the time being as the music may be pushing you to run faster, concentrate on keeping the pace down. 

If you've done a 5k or 10k put your race PB in a pace training calculator and it will tell you what pace you should be training at.

• GuarddogGuarddog ✭✭✭
    Hi hev34 - Shades is absolutely right it is about slowing things down. It does sound counter intuitive, but the long slow runs are all about time on feet rather than pace and distance. As Shades suggests look at a race calculator based on your other times to see what your race pace might be and then aim to train at a minute slower than that.

Additionally if there's a running group near you see if they do race training, including the long runs. Running in a group is an excellent way to keep to a particular pace. And the pain is shared  :)  
  • I have the same problem although a 9 minute mile would be great for me. My issue is my heart rate any faster than a 10 mile and my heart rate goes up around the 190 mark which is so annoying as my breathing and everything else is fine. I did the Swansea half this weekend and had an average hate rate of 180 bpm. Don’t know how I’m supposed to go slower to get faster 😂 
  • GuarddogGuarddog ✭✭✭