Pain in achilles and shin

Due to this lockdown I can't get to my usual sprinting haunt. I usually sprint on grass. I've found a concrete stretch near my home that is 100m long which I've been using. Issue is, I'm getting horrendous dull pain in my achilles especially after doing about half my workout. I halved what I did today just to get through a few sprints...

Is this just my legs getting used to concrete sprinting?

Comments

• BedianBedian ✭✭
    Hi all, I've just joined the forum and i'm struggling to find the option to post a thread so thought I would just comment here. I hope that's ok?

I'm a beginner to running. I've just recently stopped playing rugby and thought I would use this lockdown to try getting into a new sport. I've been running regularly for just over a month now but have run into some issues that I'm hoping you can help with.

I've usually been running around 3k 3/4 days per week from the start. I've gradually increased my times and pace with some success however I have had an issue on the lower outside of my leg, above the ankle since I first began and it doesn't seem to have gotten much better. It feels like lactic acid build up and it becomes very tight. I've looked it up and it looks to be the fibular brevis?

I assumed it was just a muscle that needed building up over time. Last week I pushed on and did a 4 and 5k run in which the injury flared up as it usually does. I then had 3 days rest to recover before getting back to it. What seems strange to me with this is that it only seems to be an issue when I run and shortly after. Otherwise it doesn't seem aggravated at all and isn't sore or tight so feels different to a normal muscular injury.