Hip issue

Hi everyone,

I am relatively new to running - started back in November with C25K and have been working up to 10k since March. Throughout March and the first half of April, I was averaging 15-20 miles per week (so not a huge amount!), although I would say I was reasonably fast-paced (around 7-7:30 min/mile), which felt just within the upper limit of my comfort zone.

About a week ago, I noticed a pain localised to the front of my right hip, which was only triggered by running. I stopped running last Friday (5 days ago) and have not run since (apart from a tentative 30-second jog on my walk today).

Obviously I can't visit a GP or physio under current circumstances, but does anyone have any advice re. next steps? I am already stretching and have taken ibuprofen a couple of times a day in case it's inflammation. The pain is not present when I stretch, sit down, stand, walk or climb stairs, but it flares when I start jogging (even slowly).

There is no pain in my thigh or knee, so I don't think it's ITBS. Does anyone have any thoughts on what this could be, and when I might be able to run again? I don't want to lose all my progress :(

Thank you in advance!

Comments

• SHADESSHADES ✭✭✭✭
    Look up some stretches for hip flexors.   It's very common for the hip flexors to become tight and troublesome.   
  • NWCBNWCB ✭✭✭
    Thanks Shades, I'll give that a go!

Do you think I should hold off from running until the pain is completely gone? I'm assuming yes but you never know... :(

Am I likely to lose a lot of fitness after, say, 2 weeks?
  • SHADESSHADES ✭✭✭✭
    NWCB - don't run if it hurts but you will maintain your fitness quite well if you are able to walk at a brisk pace.   Walking may help you heal too and then as you recover you'll be able to introduce a few little running sections into your walk.

Even if lost some fitness it will return quickly, much much quicker than the time it took you to get to the level that you are at now.
  • jobeejobee ✭✭