Options

Sub 3h15

Comments

• Options
    SBD.SBD. ✭✭✭
    Hope the hip settles down OO.

I was a student at Durham University and did the Great North Run in June 1983 - it was a hot one!  I had been training over the winter with the University cross-country running club although I was probably the slowest member.   This was my first ever longer distance road race and I managed a 1:25:xx.  I was quite pleased with myself until I got back to the college to hear that one of the rugby players had run 1:10:xx! 

Good easy 10 milers Gul.  There is something satisfying about a double figure run.  Is the 12-hour run a solo effort?

Nice easy miles Leslie.

Good trail miles G-D but probably best to stay away from the skipping rope.

Good progress DT.

I'm still hopeful some form of reduced numbers event will take place at London or Berlin but I guess it will be a while before we hear.  

I've never found rest helpful for clearing up niggles, so will keep running easy for a while in the hope they'll go away.  In truth, I'm missing the regular sports massage and being able to use the treadmill.  I've also stopped doing some of the strength and conditioning work which I need to restart.

10 easy miles yesterday, 12.5 scheduled early evening.
  • Options
    DT19DT19 ✭✭✭
    edited May 2020

Not  a shabby early GNR by you there SBD. Yes, you are probably right re the niggles and rest.

I had seen the idea mooted that London could perhaps do an elite, champs and gfa race. However, my opinion only, vmlm is in part like a giant parkrun and embraces the slower half of the field and bends over backwards for 8 hr runners. I simply cannot see them risking the wrath of the masses and being labelled elitist etc in doing that.