Knee Pain should I be worried

I did a Parkrun two weeks ago.   I had not been running much following a groin strain so it was about my 5th run in two weeks always around 5k.    I had no problem other than being tired from the effort due to lack of fitness.   

I felt a little bit of pain in my knee that evening but nothing concerning.    I awoke on Sunday with more pain and slight swelling above the knee.   This got worse slowly during the day and was worse again on the Monday.     I have completely rested it but two weeks on its still stiff and a little sore.   It is slowly getting better but very slowly.   I am worried its going to go again or not heal.   I cant see a physio at the moment due to the current situation.   I have been running for about 15 years without ever having knee trouble.     Any advice?  

Comments

• My knee is similar level to yours , I’ve found that completely resting it doesn’t work for me I’ve had acl and mcl damage , after years of physio I located my knee damage was coming from my IT band, I’m not saying yours is of coarse , I’m no expert but looking beyond the knee helped me 

I spent hours on psoas stretching and it eased my knee pain . <div>
    </div><div>I’d like to hear more people’s recommendations aswell hope it gets better </div><div>
    </div>
  • I've had some success doing slow and controlled backwards step-downs on my bad knee...might help
  • If your pain is sudden and seemingly unrelated to an activity, or has lasted more than 48 hours, you should consider seeing a doctor. In addition, pay attention to what the source of the pain may be. If it's deep within the joint, it's a bigger cause for concern since pain there is rarely muscle related.
    Dave Alce
    Marketing Manager
  • Hi Oxon White,
    I can't speak for your usual clinician, but I'm a chiropractor and a lot of my colleagues are offering video consultations at present.