Jungle marathon training

HI all

I am doing this race in Sept- is basically equivalent to the marathon des sables but in the jungle- 125 mile s- 6 stages- one 50 miler !! help....

First go at something like this.
Any people who have done MdS with any tips on how bigger mileage to aim for ? With 7 mths to go i am doing 40 miles a week.
I was thinking of doing an ultra in june- 32 miler on dartmoor- would this be a bad idea as would still have have 3 mths to go. I guess i want to get as high mileage as poss but not get injured by doing too much too soon.
I am starting with some gym weights and X training as well

Any tips would be very welcolm

Many thanks

Comments

• there are some guys on here who can help you...
    hold the line please
  • Im doing the MDS in April.

..but like yourself I have never done anything like it before.

To get used to the heat I went out to Cyprus twice for fortnight at a time last July and August - and just tryed to get used running in the midday Sun, day after day. I hope its not any hotter in the MDS than it was out there on the second stint(40 in the shade on a few occasions) becuase I found it enormously difficult to keep going in that heat and I never really got used to it.

Luckily I can easily get out to Cyprus as I have family over there and a place to stay at no cost. Problem is you recondition yourself back to the shitty English waether very quickly I think - oh well at least it gives me an idea of what to expect.

In terms of training I been very slowly increasing My Mileage over the last year from a start point of about 40, To the point where I know run every day and am doing about 80 a week at the mo....and its getting very boring and tiresome. I just want it to end now.

I dont do any cross training - although I do do a lot of pressups and situps most days but then I have always done that.