Physical Therapist hoping to help solve running injuries

Hey all, I hope it’s ok that I post this but I see so many people here struggling with injury and I’d love to help where I can.

I’m an Australian Physical Therapist who’s really passionate about uncovering and solving the root cause of common aches and pains - particularly those associated with running. And if it's ok, I’d love to pass on some really important information I’ve come to learn over the course of the last 15 years in terms of why running injures happen and what’s important to focus on if you want them to go (and stay) away.

Apologies in advance for the length of the post!

Firstly, I think there are two really important things to consider when discussing injuries and running:

#1 - The onset of most running-related injuries should be considered the last straw, not the start of something new.
#2 - Running is, by definition, normal for the human body to do.

In my experience, running injuries are usually a consequence of something else, and the repetition of running just exposes what you took into running. It doesn’t mean running is bad for anyone, just that it's really good at exposing hidden flaws we accrue in other areas of our lives.

Take common running-related issues like Plantar Fasciitis, Achilles Tendonitis, Shin Splints, Patellofemoral pain, Patella Tendonitis, ITB Syndrome, Anterior Hip Pain, Gluteal Tendonitis, Low Back Pain, etc. It’s important to consider that these are actually not isolated, different issues divorced from each other. Yes, they're all considered different injuries to different parts of the body, but they are actually just a different expression of similar root dysfunctions - which I’d like to highlight.