Running after COVID

Hi there

Sorry if this has been discussed a lot but I couldn't see a recent thread - I had COVID in October (confirmed, positive test). I was poorly with flu like symptoms, severe tiredness and loss of taste. I was in bed for a solid week but nothing serious and recovered within a couple of weeks. I have been running for 20 years and run approx. 45-50k per week. I do longer runs at the weekend, on a hilly course, ranging between 16k and half marathon. I've been doing that distance/course for a looong time. I went back to running after COVID and found it tough and 2.5 months later, it is not getting any easier. I am really struggling with my pace (it is way off my usual average & probs the slowest I've ever run) and I am struggling to do 10 miles without feeling absolutely exhausted for most of it. I am constantly low on energy when running and my pace is getting even slower rather than improving. Initially I was OK thinking it will come back but after yet a really difficult run today, I am starting to get a bit more worried as I have never experienced anything like this before. I am not sure if this is def COVID related and if it will pass over time or perhaps something else .. anyone else experienced this before or have any advice on how to tackle ongoing fatigue (with every single run over several weeks) when it comes to running.

Thank you!

Comments

• TRTR ✭✭✭
    edited January 2021
    You have to ease off a bit and give yourself time. I tested positive early December, only had mild symptoms (less than a cold), and im still not back to full fitness. Ive only just started upping the intensity now. Keep it easy and give yourself time.