potential injury 1 month before race

So I started training for the great north run around the end of December, I managed to get my longest runs to around 11km then I was unwell for a couple of months which put me off training for a bit. I did the odd 5 and 6 km when I wasn't well and managed a 12km walk during that time.
Once I was feeling better and not unwell anymore I started training again and did a couple of 6km and 7km runs then went straight back to 10 and 11km runs. After that, I ended up with soreness on the inside of my lower legs above the ankle, especially when walking up and downstairs. It's not exactly painful but aches quite a bit and on a scale of 1 to 10 I would give it around a 3 or 4.

My issue now is I am one month away from the great north run and still haven't pushed past 11km and I don't know if I should carry on with the training for the next couple of weeks or rest and see if the aching goes away. I'm going to see a physio in 5 days, but I thought I would get some other opinions while waiting for my appointment. I also did a 6k run last night to see how my legs would be and they felt ok during the run with very mild aching in the lower legs but I can feel it a bit more today.

I can't figure out if it's shin splints or not and if it is safe to keep training. I should also add I am doing the half marathon for charity so backing out isn't an option for me, even if I have to walk some of it I am determined to finish.

Comments

• SHADESSHADES ✭✭✭✭
    It would be very unlikely to be an injury when it's affecting both legs and onset at the same time.   Shin splints is just a generic name for pain in the shins and often caused by overstriding and/or doing too much too soon.

Are you doing some stretching?   Gentle daily stretching especially the calf muscles.    Some ankle mobility exercises may help too.    Are your shoes providing enough support and cushioning?