Advice on marathon pacing

Hi!

<div>I’m new on here and am hoping for some last minute marathon advice.

I’ve been running consistently since 2015 and in 2016 ran a 3:37 marathon. I followed my own made up (rubbish) training plan and for the last 4 miles felt absolutely appalling. I was on for 3:30 until about 5 miles from home.

This time I’ve been following the P and D Advanced Marathoning 18 week training plan, 55-70 miles a week. I have done every single run in the plan so far 

I’ve been running my lactose threshold runs at about 6:50 a mile and my long runs somewhere between 7:20 and 8:40. I managed a 22 miler at 7:39 pace and felt fine at the end - no slowing down at all.

2 weeks ago I ran a half marathon race in 1:27:15 and that was after a 19 mile run 3 days earlier (admittedly at 8:38 pace) then a very mini taper of 2 days.

I have run a 5k in 19:34 and a 10k in 40:36 (Both months ago)

So! My question is, what should I be trying to run a marathon in?!

Sensibly perhaps I should be going for 7:10 a mile but, given that I did that half marathon 3 days after a long run I reckon I could probably run a half faster than that if it has been the goal…

Any advice would be very welcome..

Thanks </div>

Comments

• Hi, my times are probably similar to yours, but the fact that you've recently run 22 miles at such a fast pace with no after-effects suggests that 7:10-7:15 mins per mile should be very doable. One very rough rule of thumb is to double your half time and add 20 minutes for a marathon, so this would also agree.