Injury help

I am another Nike 10k beginner! I have been running 5k for several months now, but after my first 8k training run my knees have become really sore around the kneecap and it is now 4 days since I have run. I tried a gentle run and have changed my trainers to give more support, but I am still getting pain continuously, although it is not too bad. Can anyone give me any advice, as there isn't long to go and I need to continue my training.

Comments

• Hi Karen. Is it sorness or pain that you feel, you mentioned both. Are there sharpe pains? is there any swelling.

Put ice on it wrapped in a towel and rest your leg when ever you can. The best way forward at present is to do no body weight training. ie do exercise cycle at low intencity pressure or swimming if you can.

Do upper body exercise and light weights, training for runners is not only about running,all exercise in general will help especially when an injury is preventing you from running.

You can also do the very important mental motivational training.

Here is something that may surprise you. You can strengthen the injured knee by exerciseing your good knee. The brain will automatically send signals to both knees as you strenghten the good one. You have proberly caused damage by repetitive runs and done no strenght work like hills or speed.

Anyhow you should not run at present , when you say you can that is because the adrenerline has helped out.

Rest for 3 days see how it is then.

All the best Ron.

PS. I missed the point that you said your knees which I assume you mean both of them. So obviously you cannot carrying on with strengthen one knee. However the good news is that as both knees are sore it is unlikely to be anything too serious and will almost certainly clear up after 3 or 4 days rest. But carry on with the other exercise as mentioned. Ron
  • Hi Karen,